Law Office Of

Donald W. Bedell

Schedule Your Free Legal Consultation

Law Office Of

Donald W. Bedell
Free Consults Available

More than 25 years of trial success

3 FAQs about getting hit by a drunk driver

On Behalf of | Dec 5, 2022 | Motor Vehicle Accidents

While driving, you hope that everyone else obeys the traffic rules, especially not driving while intoxicated.

Unfortunately, alcohol often makes people make poor decisions. Although New Jersey has fewer drunk drivers than other states, more than 20,000 people get arrested in the state for DUIs. If hit by one of these drivers, you have rights as a victim.

1. Will insurance cover my medical bills and damage?

As required by New Jersey, drivers in the state must have car insurance with a minimum of $15,000 personal liability coverage. Things become challenging if the driver does not have valid insurance or not enough to cover costs. If you have uninsured motorist coverage, you may still get the money owed to you.

2. Can I sue the drunk driver?

You have the option to file a civil case against a drunk driver. While a judge may require the guilty party to pay restitution during the criminal proceedings, the amount often does not provide enough restitution. By filing a civil case, you increase the chances of getting the true worth out of your case.

3. Can I sue the establishment that served the drunk driver?

New Jersey has a dram shop law, which lets you sue the establishment for damages. This type of case comes with some difficulties as you must prove that the vendor willingly continued to serve the person, who was obviously already intoxicated. Doing that requires obtaining any potential camera footage, receipts or witnesses.

While you have the right to file a lawsuit, it has complexities that create challenges. Seeking help as soon as possible may help you get what you deserve.