Law Office Of

Donald W. Bedell

Schedule Your Free Legal Consultation

Law Office Of

Donald W. Bedell
Free Consults Available

More than 25 years of trial success

What is New Jersey’s law concerning dog bites?

On Behalf of | Aug 9, 2022 | Dog Bites

A dog attack can be a scary situation, but the law has your back. You may want to hold someone responsible for the accident. The law dictates exactly who that is.

The New Jersey Certified Officer Association explains state law makes the owner liable for any actions of their dog. So, if you find yourself in a situation where you are suffering from a dog bite, you can hold the owner responsible.


The law says that the owner is liable for his or her dog’s actions regardless of the situation. He or she does not have to know the dog could bite or have a tendency to be aggressive. It also does not matter if this incident occurs in public or on private property. Even if the owner tried to prevent the bite or stop the dog, he or she is still liable.

What this means for you as the victim is that you do not need to prove anything except the person who owns the dog to hold that person liable for your injuries.

Additional requirements

The dog bite law in New Jersey also goes beyond liability. The state requires any animal that bites a person to go into a 10-day quarantine. It does not matter the health history of the animal. This period allows a professional to observe the dog and ensure it is healthy and could not have passed on any illness to the victim.

A dog bite can be a bad situation, but the law in New Jersey offers you the chance to hold the owner liable and recoup some damages from your harrowing experience.